How To Personalize an Application Letter To Win the Job

Aji Sutarmaji
12 min readMay 24, 2022
Application Letter for System Manager

We provide you with different types of application letter sample for a few reasons. Do you know that different application letters can cause different results? For one thing, this application letter sample should be able to match the situation or circumstances the author faces. Secondly, this job application letter needs to be able to sell the author’s strength and skills from different background and education. Finally, these samples should be varied so that you can choose which wordings suit your personality.

As discussed earlier, different situation and circumstances affect the way you write job application letters. See the followings situations and circumstances that generally influence the word choices when writing a job application letter :

Advertised Job Application Letter Sample (Vacancy)

See the following example:

Dear Mr. Williams,

I am aware of the driver position advertised in today’s local newspapers. Therefore, I would like to put forward my application for the position.

Inquiry Job Application Letter Sample

See the following example :

Dear Ms. Goldman,

I am seeking a responsible position as a financial research assistant in which I may use my training to solve financial problem. Please allow me to find out if there is possibility of obtaining such a position within your firm.

Recommended Job Application Letter Sample

Dear Sir:

I am writing to express interest in the Registered Nurse position recommended by one of your doctor at your hospital, Dr. Rubyleen. She and I were colleagues when we were working in Makati Public Hospital. In October 2015, I graduated from Makati Health College with an Associate of Science in Nursing. In my resume, you will see that my experience matches the qualifications listed for this position. I heard about this job through Dr. Rubyleen who gave me a recommendation letter attached with this application letter.

How To Write An Application Letter

To write an application letter you just have to remember the letter format described below. After you choose the format, then you begin thinking of body of the application letter. It usually consists of three paragraphs. The first one is about the job listing. The second is about you and your qualification. And, the last paragraph expresses your gratitude and expectation to follow up the application letters such as possible call, interview, email. Make sure you put in your contact details/personal identity. When you send an application letter or a cover letter, please enclose your resume to provide additional information on your skills and experience.

Your application letter should provide detailed information on what position you are applying for, why you are qualified for the job you are applying for. In addition to that, your application letter should explain the reasons for your interest in the certain organization. It should also state your most relevant skills or experiences.

Your application letter should also inform the employer what benefits they will get if they select you as their employee. In addition to that, please make sure that you state the time comfortable for the employer and you to have an interview, and how you will follow-up.

Some people state how much salary they expect when they write a job application letter. You can also do this if your intention is to increase your salary. However, if you are between jobs or unemployed, it is advisable that you do not mention this matter in it.

Job Application Letter Opening Sentences

See the followings when you are not sure to start an application letter.

Recommendation

  1. You can begin with: “I just met with Susan Doherty from your firm, and she strongly recommended that I send you my resume. She is sure that I am the ideal candidate for the position of System Manager.”
  2. If you write a letter based on someone’s suggestion, you can start with these: “I enjoyed our meeting at the Big Motorcycle Club and. As you suggested, I am sending you this additional information to review before we get together. Victoria Ltd suggested I contact you regarding opportunities in your warehouse division. My background documents considerable success in the areas of loss prevention and asset recovery, which I understand are high on your list of requirements.”
  3. This one is based on website’s info and someone’s recommendation: “I am writing to express my interest in the International Marketing position open at Business.com. My colleague Amanda White recommended that I contact you directly about this position.”
  4. Based on recommendation: “I have the pleasure of being acquainted with one of your staff, Rachel Jones. She let me know about the open position, and recommended that I contact you. I graduated from ………”

Highlighting Skills and Qualification

  1. These sentences are also good to open the letter while highlighting your skills and qualification: “As a fresh University of Seychelles graduate, I am confident that My computer skills plus my well-honed interest in technology advances, and my recently completed education in computer science make me a strong candidate for a position as an entry-level software engineer at your highly regarded company.”

Setting Similarities With Recruiter

  1. If you have the same background with the recruiter, you can write: “Before deciding to apply, I did some research and discovered that we’re both Philippines University grads. I hope this will be a harbinger of good things to come and that we will be doing our best in the workplace. As a new graduate, I’ve been hoping to find the kind of position you’re staffing because I have exactly the background you’re asking for.”

Inquiry or Advertised Vacancy

  1. When you know there is an available position, you can begin with this: “I am very interested in the entry level position that is available at Jakarta Investment Partners. I recently graduated from University of Indonesia and my courses in investments, finance and business have given me a solid base upon which I plan to build my career.”
  2. Based on newspapers: “I’m writing to express my interest in the Editorial Assistant position listed on Finance Newspapers. I am confident that my related experience and excellent capabilities will meet your requirements for this position.”
  3. Also based on advertisements on newspapers: “I am writing to apply for the Dining room Manager position advertised in the Times Herald. I graduated from Bandung International Hotel University five years ago and I am sure my experience in Hilton Hotel will enrich the company’s standard of services.”
  4. This is for teachers: “I have a very strong interest in pursuing a teaching career. With experience working at both the elementary and high school levels, as well as in activities outside of the traditional classroom, I have a diverse background with much to offer.”

Application Letter Format

Application Letter Format. When we write an application letter, we usually use the following format :

Applicant’s Personal Identity

Applicant personal identity usually consists of :

Name

Address

City, State Zip Code

Phone Number

Email Address

Date

After we write our personal identity, we usually put on the date. Examples:

October 13, 2013

November 1, 2013

Salutation

After the date, we normally write salutation. Examples :

Dear Sir: (If we do not know the name of the person we are writing to), Dear Mr. Smith, Dear Mrs. White.

Body of the Letter

Right below the salutation, we begin writing the content of our application letter. It usually consists of three paragraph.

The First Paragraph

The first paragraph of our application letter usually states the reason we are applying for the job, what position we are applying for and how we know the vacant position.

The Second Paragraph

The second paragraph should convey the information about our qualification, experience, and educational background.

The Third Paragraph

The third paragraph usually conveys our gratitude to the person we are writing to, how and when we can be contacted for an interview. We can also put our email address or phone number here.

Complimentary Close

We usually put complimentary close just before our signature. Examples:

Sincerely yours,

Cordially yours,

Signature

The last thing we have to put in our application letter is our signature. Learn more about parts of business letter here.

More Tips on Writing Application Letters

Tips on Writing Application Letters. As a conclusion, pay attention to the following tips on writing an application letter :

  1. Why you are writing — mention the job you are applying for and where you found the listing.
  2. What you have to offer the employer — mention why your skills and experience are a good fit for the job.
  3. Express your gratitude to the personnel manager for considering you and note how you will follow up.

See the following application letter samples. They are written in Full Block Style.

Teacher Application Letter Sample

Sultan Haruddin

Jl. Sukaindah no. 5 Sukarajin I

Kel. Cikutra Kec. Cibeunying Kidul

Bandung, 40124

January 01, 2021

Dr. Mark Harrison
Bandung International High School
Bandung, 40120

Dear Mr. Harrison,

Please accept my application for the position of English Trainer in Bandung International High School you offered. Since I have an educational background and experiences matching your criteria, I am enthusiastically ready to be a part of your team. At the beginning of this humble proposal, please allow me to highlight my qualification in teaching English. Recently I have just got two Teaching Knowledge Test certificates from Cambridge English Language Assessment.

For your information and considerations, please allow me to give you my background and experiences. From 2010 up to present time, I dedicated my time, knowledge and energy writing on “Business Letter Samples” for my own site named www.englet.com. Besides, from 2014 to 2015 I worked as an English tutor in American Prep, an educational institution delivering home tutoring to different international school students such as Binus, BSJ, Tiara Bangsa etc. From 2016 to 2017, I worked for English First PT Summa Harmony. After that, from 2017 to 2018, I worked as an English Trainer for Language Solutions International. Finally, from October 2019 up to present time, I am working in SD Al-Azhar 46, Depok.

I thank you for offering me this position. Should you need to contact me, you can call me at this number 0813 8048 4674 or preferably email me at haruddin@gmail.com.

Sincerely,

Sultan Haruddin

Download the letter here.

Driver Application Letter Sample

Joe Hulk
1 South Street
San Francisco, CA, 94102

March 17, 2021

Bob Williams
Comfort Transportation Company
12 North Street
San Francisco, CA, 94102

Dear Mr. Williams,

I am aware of the driver position advertised in today’s local newspapers. Therefore, I would like to put forward my application for the position. I have a proper driving license and have been working as a bus driver for ten years in Miami. I am a reliable and trustworthy employee and am ready to work long hours. In addition, I am punctual and capable of driving safely and carefully under any circumstances. Please let me assure that I could do very well in your company as I usually did in my former employer. I thank you very much for considering me for this post. Should you need to contact me, you can do so by calling or emailing me at the number or email address in my attached resume.

Sincerely yours,

Joe Hulk

Download the letter here.

Application Letter for Financial Research Assistant Sample

George Marlon

Bloomington, IN 47401
February 15, 2020

Ms. Laura Goldman
Personnel Manager
Action, Inc.
80 Roseville Road
St. Louis, MO 63130

Dear Ms. Goldman,

I am seeking a responsible position as a financial research assistant in which I may use my training to solve financial problems. Therefore, I am writing to find out if there is possibility of obtaining such a position within your firm.

I expect to receive a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in finance from Indiana University in June. Since September 2015, I have been participating, through the university, in the Professional Training Program at Computer Systems International, in Indianapolis. In the program I was assigned, on rotating basis, to several staff sections in apprentice positions. Most recently, I have been a financial trainee in the Accounting Department and have gained a great deal of experience. Details of the academic courses I have taken are contained in the enclosed resume.

I look forward to meeting you soon in an interview.

Sincerely,

George Marlon

Download the letter here.

Application Letter Sample for Marketing Manager

Vicky Green

123 Norris Road, Birmingham

August 12, 2021

Mr. John Martin
Recruitment Manager
Best Goods Inc.

Dear Sir,

I would like to apply for the job of ‘Marketing Manager’ advertised in The Guardian, August 8, 2020. My name is John Hopkins. I am 24 years old and I have a bachelor degree in economics.

Could you please tell me what the salary is before you invite me for an interview? I would be available for an interview on Thursdays or Fridays.

Sincerely,

Vicky Green

Download the application letter in Google Drive.

Application Letter Sample for Reporter

John Magellan
35 King Albert Park
Singapore 2159
Telephone 7785427

February 15, 2020

The Personnel Officer
The Straits Times
390 Kim Seng Road
Singapore 0923

Dear Sir,
Re: Vacancy for Post of Reporter
Having obtained a university degree and some invaluable experiences overseas as a reporter, I am inquiring as to whether you have any suitable vacancies in The Straits Times.

My interest in journalism developed while I was studying English at a British University’s “Students News” but later I became one of the editors.

After I graduated, I spent three months as a reporter for “The Evening News”, one of the provincial daily newspaper. Working alongside experienced reporters, I learned, for example, how to focus a story on a point of human interest and how to interview people sensitively when they are under stress after a disaster has occurred.

Now that I have returned to Singapore, I naturally wish to pursue a journalistic career with The Straits Time.

I am enclosing my resume for your information and would value the opportunity of discussing with you at your earliest convenience the possibility of employment.

Sincerely,

John Magellan
Booksfree.com

Download the application letter in Google Drive.

Application Letter Sample For System Manager

George Martin

143 Walking Street
Denmark
September 13, 2021

Human Resources Department
Carnival Cruise Line
Copenhagen, Denmark

Dear Sirs,
I am writing to inquire whether your company will have any available position to be opened in the near future which is in line with my skill and educational background. My name is George Martin and I am 23 years old Graduated from Harvard University majoring in Information Technology,
I have had two years of experience as a System Manager at Boston University of Computer in Boston. I am confident that I will perform a job which will meet your standard.
For further information, I attached my CV and Reference. I would be grateful if you could give me an opportunity for an interview at any time available. Thank you for considering this application and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

George Martin

Download the application letter in Google Drive.

Waiter Application Letter Sample

Raul Kabayan
12 Main Street
San Francisco, CA 94120

March 19, 2020

Americhi Restaurant
123 South Street
San Francisco, CA 94120

Dear Sir,

I saw your advertisement in today’s local newspaper that you needed more experienced waiters for your restaurant. Since I have an educational and experience background in the food and hospitality industry, I am enthusiastically ready to work for your company. For the last five years, I worked for Mexican Restaurant where I overcame working under pressure and got a lot of practical knowledge and practice on every aspect of food service, including taking orders, waiting customer’s dinner and lunch, handling the cash register and performing daily inventory reports. In the same restaurant, I also succeeded in performing front office duties for a year. I gained a lot of experiences in hospitality practice and fulfilling all the customer’s demands. I thank you for thinking over me as your waiter. Should you need to contact me, you can call me at this number 1234567 or email me at xyz@gmail.com.

Sincerely yours,

Raul Kabayan

Download the application letter in Google Drive.

See also the following recommendation letters for a better job chance.

Application Letter Sample for Nurses

Godfredo Hernandez
12 Main Street
Makati, 94121

October 19, 2020

Manila Public Hospitals
123 South Street
Manila, 94120

Dear Sir:

I am writing to express interest in the Registered Nurse position recommended by one of your doctor at your hospital, Dr. Rubyleen. She and I were colleagues when we were working in Makati Public Hospital. I graduated from Makati Health College with an Associate of Science in Nursing in October 2010. From my resume, you will see that my experience matches the qualifications listed for this position. I heard about this job through Dr. Rubyleen who gave me a recommendation letter attached with this application letter. My nursing educational background at Makati Health College and my experience as a registered nurse at Makati Public Hospital have given me skills in patient assessment and a solid foundation in providing holistic nursing care that focuses on all aspects of a human’s health. I am really keen on nursing. My communication skills, along with my compassion, patience, passion and patient advocacy, are what I offer as a registered nurse. I would be honored and excited to be a part of your team and contribute my skills to your staff and patients. I look forward to an interview with you to discuss my education and experience at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely yours,

Godfredo Hernandez

Download the application letter in Google Drive.

Related Posts

Rejection Letter Sample

Resume Sample

Cover Letter

Application Letter Templates

Other Letter Samples

Circular Letter Sample

Order Letter Sample

Invitation Letter Sample

Adjustment Letter Sample

--

--

Aji Sutarmaji

Meet Aji , a seasoned baby boomer with a passion for education and communication. His experience has honed his skills to be an excellent educator and author.