11 Resignation Letter Samples and Templates

Aji Sutarmaji
12 min readMay 28, 2022
Resignation Letter Samples and Templates

There are about 11 resignation letter sample/samples in the following sections. One resignation letter sample is designed to be concise. One other should be polite. One other should be professional. Actually, all of the resignation letters in here fulfill those criteria. Check them all.

Get and edit the resignation letter sample above in Canva.

How To Write Resignation Letter

A resignation letter is normally written by an employee who is going to quit from his or her job. This resignation letter is usually addressed to the Human Resources Manager or to the owner of a company. When we write a resignation letter, we must be extra careful on what to write in it. There are three main reasons for this. Firstly, We may go back to the same company in future. Secondly, it is likely that we need the company to give us a good reference for future employer. Finally, we might have a dispute with the company in future.

A good resignation letter should clearly and honestly state the reason for resignation. However small your reason might be, it is wise to tell them the honest reason for your resignation. Generally, people might resign for the similar reasons. Firstly, they have found a better job financially. Some people have found easier job with the same salary. Others may find a better position in another employer. Although it’s a rare case, some people might set up their own business (self-employed). If you honestly state one of the reason above in your letter of resignation, It is guaranteed that nobody will get hurt. Please make sure there are no words that can be misinterpreted in your resignation letter.

What To Write in Resignation Letter

Write a notice that we are going to resign from our job two weeks or more in advance. If possible, state the reason for your resignation. See two notice examples below. They are highlighted in aquamarine color.

Dear Mr. Jones:

This is to formally announce my resignation from ABC Company, effective on June 5, 2017. I have decided to leave the company because of my residence relocation.

Dear Mr. Jones:

This letter is to inform you of my formal resignation from ABC Company, effective on June 5, 2017.

Show our gratitude for being employed there, for being supported and guided. The gratitude sample is highlighted in green.

Dear Mr. Jones :

I am writing to formally announce my resignation from ABC Company, effective on June 5, 2017.

Thank you very much for all of your support and guidance during my employment. I have had precious colleagues, expertise and skills which is very valuable for my career in future.

Offer our help to make smooth handover process. The offer is highlighted in yellow.

Dear Mr. Jones :

I am writing to formally announce my resignation from ABC Company, effective on June 5, 2017.

Thank you very much for all of your support and guidance during my employment. I have had precious colleagues, expertise and skills that are very valuable for my career in future.

If I can be of assistance during the transition, I will be glad to help you to make the smooth handover process.

Sincerely,

Tom Bradley

Job Resignation Letter Sample

It is advisable to write a job resignation letter at least two weeks before our resignation so that our company will have enough time to find a new personnel to replace us.

Job Resignation Letter Sample

Mark Maloney Anthony
12 Market St.
San Francisco, CA 99414
(415) 123–456

April 4, 2017

Mr. Robert Williams
Human Resources Manager
China Town Hotel
123 Cole St
San Francisco, CA 99417
(415) 456–123

Dear Mr. Williams,
This letter is to inform you about my resignation from my position beginning May 1, 2017. I have decided to move to another company because I need to develop my career which is not available in this company. Thank you very much for your guidance and full support during my work at China Town Hotel. I have had a lot of valuable colleagues, expertise and skills so far that are very valuable for my next career. Please let me know if there is something I can do to make a smooth handover process.

Sincerely,

Mark Maloney Anthony

Download the Job Resignation Letter Sample here.

Resignation Letter Template/Format

Resignation Letter Template

(Your Name)
(Your Address)

(Date)

( Name and or Position of Recipient )
( Address of The Company )

Dear Sir,

This letter is to formally inform you of my resignation from my position beginning (date). The reason for my resignation is (State the reason here).I thank you very much for your guidance and full support during my work at (Company Name). I have had a lot of new expertise and skills during this time. Please let me know if there is something I can do to make a smooth handover process.

Sincerely,

(Signature)

(Your Name)

Download the Resignation Letter Format here.

Concise Resignation Letter Sample

Concise Resignation Letter Sample

1500 California Street,

San Francisco, CA 94114

(415) 643–7555

May 10, 2021

Brian Smith

Brian’s Gadget

1000 California Street,

San Francisco, CA 94114

(415) 643–7666

Dear Mr. Smith,

This is to formally announce my resignation from the company, effective June 10, 2021. I am forced to leave this company due to my family interest.

I really appreciate all of your support, guidance and cooperation during my employment. Working for Brian’s Gadget has given me priceless experience with a wonderful group of colleagues. I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Brian’s Gadget in future.

If there is something I can do to make smooth handover process, I will be more than happy to help you.

Sincerely,

Sean Hernandez

Download the Concise Resignation Letter Sample here.

Email Resignation Letter Sample

To : xyz@abc.comcc : vwx@abc.com

Subject : Resignation Notice

Dear Mr. Washington,

This is to inform you of my resignation from the company, effective June 12, 2017. I really enjoy working here but I have to leave it and its community due to my family interest.

Thank you for all of the support, guidance and cooperation from you and other colleagues during my employment. Working for ABC Company has given me priceless experience and valuable skills. I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at ABC Company in future.

Please let me know if there is something I can do to make smooth handover process before I leave you all. I wish you all big success.

Sincerely,

Naomi Johannes

Download the Email Resignation Letter here.

Formal Resignation Letter Sample

1111 Northeast Multnomah Street
Portland, OR 97232
(503) 288–1111

June 6, 2021

Michael Anthony
Central Bank of Portland
1234 Northeast Multnomah Street
Portland, OR 97232 (503) 288–1234

Dear Mr. Anthony,

This letter is to provide you with a formal notice of my resignation from Central Bank of Portland, effective June 6, 2020. I have made this difficult decision to leave this company due to my personal circumstances. I am really grateful for all of your support, guidance and cooperation during my employment. Central Bank of Portland has been a wonderful place to work in. My experience as its employee has been very precious and I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Central Bank of Portland in future. If there is something I can do to make smooth handover process, please contact me at my personal email address bary@mail.com or call me at (297) 9876543. I wish you and the company all the best.

Sincerely,

Mary Maloney

Download the Formal Resignation Letter here.

Immediate Resignation Letter Sample

1500 Jaggie Fox Way
Lexington, KY 40511
(859) 255–1007

May 5, 2021

Kim Jackson
Restaurant of Lexington
1777 Jaggie Fox Way
Lexington, KY 40511
(859) 255–1999

Dear Mrs. Jackson:

I am regretfully writing to provide you with a formal notice of my resignation from Restaurant of Lexington, effective immediately. This difficult decision to leave this company is caused by my personal interest that comes all of sudden.

I really appreciate all of your support, guidance and cooperation during my employment. Working for Restaurant of Lexington has been full of joy and a wonderful group of people. My experience as a waiter has been very precious and I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Restaurant of Lexington in future.

Because I have to leave as soon as possible, I have made a useful list that can help smooth the handover process. If there is something else I can do to help you, just email me at abc@xyz.com or call me at (859) 255–1888.

Sincerely,

Bruce Williams

Download the Immediate Resignation Letter here.

Polite Resignation Letter Sample

J.E. Irausquin Blvd 100 B
Oranjestad 200030, Aruba

May 5, 2020

Farid Bani Adam
Bank of Aruba
J. E. Irausquin Blvd 230 A
Oranjestad 200030, Aruba
+297 123 45678

Dear Mr. Adam,

I, herewith, would like to provide you with a formal notice of my resignation from Bank of Aruba, effective June 5, 2020. Honestly, I have made this difficult decision to leave this company due to my personal circumstances. There is not any cause from Bank of Aruba’s Management and administration. I really appreciate all of your support, guidance and cooperation during my employment. Working for Bank of Aruba has been a wonderful experience with an excellent group of colleagues. My experience as secretary has been very precious and I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Bank of Aruba in future. If there is something I can do to make smooth handover process, please contact me at my personal email address bary@mail.com or call me at (297) 9876543.

Sincerely,

Bary Van Hallen

Download the Polite Resignation Letter here.

Professional Resignation Letter Sample

111 Wood Rd,
Braintree, MA
Phone (781) 123–123

January 12th, 2020

Dear Mr. Morgan,

This letter is to provide formal notice of my resignation from Brockton Bank. I will not be available on February 12th, 2020.

Hopefully you will find a new personnel in one month. If you like, I can help you train the individual you choose to replace me.

Thank you for employing me for the past four years. As your colleague, I have learned a lot about banking skills and many other aspects of team work success. Besides, I have been very happy to have such wonderful colleagues and working environment at Brockton. Nevertheless, I have to leave due to my personal circumstances.

If you have any concerns, please contact me at my personal email address below.

Sincerely,

Robbert Marley

Download the Professional Resignation Letter Sample here.

Bank Manager Resignation Letter Sample

A bank manager resignation letter sample is a resignation letter written by a bank manager who is going to quit from his or her job. This resignation letter is usually addressed to the Human Resources Manager or to the owner of a company.

№111 Jalan Penghulu Hasan Mustofa
Bandung, 40191

January 12, 2020

Kimberly Johnson
Goldrush Bank
120 Dago Street
Bandung, 40169

Dear Mrs. Johnson,

I am writing to provide formal notice of my resignation from Goldrush Bank. Therefore, I will not be available on February 12, 2020.

I believe that one month is sufficient notice for you to find a replacement for my position. Please let me know if you need help to train the individual you choose to replace me.

Thank you for employing me for the past eight years. My experience as a manager has been very precious and I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Goldrush Bank in the future.

If you have any concerns, please contact me at my personal email address below.

Sincerely yours,

Brian Adams

Download the Bank Manager Resignation Letter here.

Secretary Resignation Letter Sample

A Secretary resignation letter sample is a resignation letter written by a secretary who is going to quit from his or her job. This resignation letter is usually addressed to the Human Resources Manager or to the owner of a company.

212 Saint Martin Street
Miami, 12345
Tel 305–23245

October 1, 2020

Kimberly Johnson
Bank of America
120 Abraham Lincoln Street
Miami, 12345

Dear Mrs. Johnson,

I, herewith, would like to provide you with a formal notice of my resignation from Bank of America effective October 12, 2021. Next month, I will be working as a customer relation manager in Hilda Hotel. I believe that I have to take this opportunity for my career development. Thank you for employing me for the past four years. Working for Bank of America has been a wonderful experience with an excellent group of colleagues. My experience as secretary has been very precious and I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Bank of America in future. If you have any concerns, please contact me at my personal email below.

Sincerely yours,

Robert Murphy

P.S. My email is ada@mail.com

Download the Secretary Resignation Letter here.

Resignation Letter Template

(Your Name)

(Your Address)

(Date)

(Name and or Position of Recipient)
(Address of The Company)

Dear Sir,

This letter is to formally inform you of my resignation from my position beginning (date). The reason for my resignation is (State the reason here).

I thank you very much for your guidance and full support during my work at (Company Name). I have had a lot of new expertise and skills during this time.

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance during the transition.

Sincerely,

(Signature)

(Your Name)

Download the Resignation Letter Template here.

Teacher Resignation Letter Sample

1001 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10018
(212) 768–8888

May 12, 2020

Abraham Washington
Head Teacher
Lincoln Academy
1001 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10018
(212) 768–9999

Dear Mr. Washington,

I am writing to formally inform you of my resignation from the school, effective June 12, 2020. Honestly, I really enjoy teaching here but I have to leave it and its community due to my family interest. Thank you for all of the support, guidance and cooperation from you and other colleagues during my employment. Teaching Lincoln Academy’s students has given me priceless experience and better sense of brotherhood. I am confident that I will use many of the skills I have learned at Lincoln Academy in future. Please let me know if there is something I can do to make smooth handover process before I leave you all. I wish you all big success.

Sincerely,

Jerry Thomas

Download the Teacher Resignation Letter here.

Two Week Notice Resignation Letter Sample

123 Prince St, Sydney,
NS B1P 5K6, Canada

May 4, 2020

Roger May
XYZ Company
345 Prince St, Sydney,
NS B1P 5K6, Canada

Dear Mr. May:

I am writing to announce formal notice of my resignation from XYZ Company, effective two weeks from today’s date.

Thank you very much for all of your support and guidance during my employment. It has been so precious and full of joy. However, I have to make this difficult decision to resign from this company due to my personal circumstances.

If you need me during this transition time, I would be glad to help you.

Sincerely,

Michael Spencer

Download the Two Week Notice Resignation Letter here.

After your resignation, you might need to write a new application letter.

Related Posts

Application Letter Sample

Rejection Letter Sample

Resume Sample

Order Letter Sample | Purchasing

Circular Letters for Better Coordination

--

--

Aji Sutarmaji

Meet Aji , a seasoned baby boomer with a passion for education and communication. His experience has honed his skills to be an excellent educator and author.